Google is known to track you or your information via the information stored on your device. It can track your location, your number, and much other information. But, in a recent report by CNBC, Google saves years of information of your purchase history. Even you visit the online store outside of Google, your history is tracked by your Gmail account.
We are all in doubt about what Mr. Pichai wrote for the New York Times stating, “privacy cannot be a luxury good.” But, behind the scenes action is something else. The purchase history information can be tracked by a website tool available. You just have to visit this website to know your purchase history.
In a statement to The Verge, Google Said;
“To help you easily view and keep track of your purchases, bookings and subscriptions in one place, we’ve created a private destination that can only be seen by you. You can delete this information at any time. We don’t use any information from your Gmail messages to serve you ads, and that includes the email receipts and confirmations shown on the Purchase page.”
Even though, you can delete all the information from the website but, it is not clear from when this part of our personal information was being tracked by Google.
According to a report in CNBC, Google said that they do not use this information for personalization or tracking. What’s interesting is that way back in 2017, Google has said that it would stop collecting any kind of information from your Gmail to personalize ads.
Although Google says you can delete the information from the purchases websites but, that information includes the receipts. These receipts are very important in the case where you would like to return the item, exchange and much more. Moreover, when you hit the delete tab on the purchases menu, it guides you back to the specific Gmail message.
Besides, Google’s privacy page says that only you can view your purchases. But it says “Information about your orders may also be saved with your activity in other Google services ” and that you can see and delete this information on a separate “My Activity” page. Google has said that you can also turn off this feature but it takes you to another website for search setting preferences.
However, CNBC tried this and it did not work. A pretty shady thing Google might be doing to invade our privacy which needs to be addressed by the user and Google should be made to answer in this regard.